Past Event

COVID-19: Safety and Sustainability Challenges for Journalists

Friday, July 17, 2020 - 8:00pm to 9:00pm
Online (Zoom)

Journalists are just one of the many essential service providers crucial to the fight against COVID-19. And being at the frontline, for many Bangladesh journalists, means that they need to ensure their safety first in order to be effective in their job to inform the public during these uncertain times.

In Bangladesh a total of 11 journalists have died of COVID-19 while eight others have died with COVID-19 symptoms. According to media houses and journalist organisations, 536 journalists and media workers have been affected by the coronavirus.

Another challenge for journalists in Bangladesh is job insecurity in the face of COVID-19. While some media organizations have found new ways of disseminating news, through online platforms, there is still a high risk that some journalists could lose jobs owing to declining revenue streams.

To discuss these issues join us this Friday 17 July 2020 for a Zoom webinar ‘COVID-19: Safety and Sustainability Challenges for Journalists’, in Bangla and English, at 8:00PM (Dhaka); 7:30PM (New Delhi and Colombo); 9:00PM (Bangkok), organized by Internews Bangladesh.

Moderator:

Syed Ishtiaque Reza, Editor in Chief, GTV and sarabangla.net

Panelists:

  • Amantha Perera, Researcher, School of Education and the Arts, CQUniversity, Australia/Asia Pacific Regional Facilitator, Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma
  • Shakil Ahmed, Head of News, Ekattor Television
  • Zahid Newaz Khan, Editor, Channel i online
  • Akther Faruk Shahin, Bureau Chief Daily Jugantor, Barisal


Jul 17, 2020 08:00 PM in Astana, Dhaka, Bangladesh (GMT+6)

COVID-19: Safety and Sustainability Challenges for Journalists

Friday, July 17, 2020 - 8:00pm to 9:00pm

Online (Zoom)

Free webinar