Past Event

EJN Webinar: Spotlight on Climate and Environmental Justice

Wednesday, July 8, 2020 - 9:00am to 10:00am
Online

The recent Black Lives Matter protests in the United States, combined with the unequal impacts of the Covid-19 pandemic and other recent events, have put a spotlight on how the worst impacts of climate and environmental change almost always fall on the poorest and most marginalized communities. In the US, and in many other countries, that usually means that communities of color bear the brunt of the damage.

Please join Internews’ Earth Journalism Network for a webinar on Wednesday, July 8, to discuss environmental justice and its role in broader conversations about systematic racism and public health. We’ll be joined by Lisa Garcia, previously a senior advisor to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and chief advocate for Environmental Justice for New York State who is now head of The Fix, Grist’s solutions lab; Drew Costley, a staff writer and multimedia journalist at OneZero on Medium; and Sweta Daga, a freelance reporter based in India who served as a Fellow for the People’s Archive of Rural India.

The webinar will start at 6:00 am California time / 8:00 am Mexico City / 9:00 am New York / 2:00 pm London / 4:00 pm Nairobi / 6:30 pm India / 8:00 pm Bangkok / 9:00 pm Manila time. 

After brief presentations from the speakers, we’ll open the session for a Q&A with questions from particpants.

EJN Webinar: Spotlight on Climate and Environmental Justice

Wednesday, July 8, 2020 - 9:00am to 10:00am

Online

Free event