Past Event

Webinar: Using Data to Investigate Pangolin Trafficking

Tuesday, April 28, 2020 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm
Online

Date: Tuesday, Apr 28, 2020
Time: 1:30PM India | 3:00PM Thailand/Vietnam | 4:00PM China

Internews' Earth Journalism Network will be joined by two journalists behind The Pangolin Reports, Trang Bui in Vietnam and Xu Jiaming in China, who will share insights and tips on gathering and analyzing data drawn from court documents and local media reports, to track the trends of wildlife trafficking. 

The Covid-19 pandemic has cast a spotlight on the wildlife trade that fueled the spillover of viruses from animals to human. The pangolin, the world's most trafficked mammal, is found to be a likely intermediary host that transmitted the new coronavirus from bats to people. Last year, a group of journalists from 14 countries released The Pangolin Reports, a global investigation into the pangolin trade by the Environmental Reporting Collecitve, a new collaborative group of reporters and editors. This webinar will share ways on how journalists can find, collect and analyze data relating to the trafficking of pangolins, using examples from Vietnam and China. 

Guest speakers:

  • Trang Bùi — The Environmental Reporting Collective, Reporter, Vietnam
  • Xu Jiaming 徐佳鸣 — The Environmental Reporting Collective, Reporter, China

Moderator:

  • Patrick Boehler - Managing Editor, The Environmental Reporting Collective

Webinar: Using Data to Investigate Pangolin Trafficking

Tuesday, April 28, 2020 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm

Online

Free event