Past Event

What the Climate Crisis Looks Like in a Covid-Altered World

Tuesday, June 2, 2020 - 9:00am to 10:00am
Online

Join our next webinar: What the Climate Crisis Looks Like in a COVID-Altered World. Will coronavirus be the spark we need to move toward lasting environmental change?

Tuesday, June 2nd
9AM Washington DC | 10AM Sao Paulo | 2PM London | 4PM Nairobi | 6:30PM India | 8PM Bangkok | 8AM Mexico City

Guest Speakers:

  • Dr. Rachel Kyte, Dean of the Fletcher School, Tufts University and Former Chief Climate Officer, the World Bank
  • Justin Worland, Energy and Environment Correspondent, Time Magazine

Daily global carbon emissions plunged 17% in April over the same period a year earlier, according to a just-published study in the journal Nature Climate Change. But that’s likely to be a temporary blip as economies re-open and common sources of emissions start up again. While renewable energy installations have gained traction in recent years, they’ll be competing for limited investor dollars and against low oil prices.

Meanwhile, the virus-stricken Bengal coast has just been pummeled by Cyclone Amphan and scientists are predicting a bad hurricane season in the Atlantic, raising questions about how governments will deal with dual crises. Will all this prompt government stimulus plans to be more green? Will coronavirus be the spark we need to move toward lasting environmental change?

What the Climate Crisis Looks Like in a Covid-Altered World

Tuesday, June 2, 2020 - 9:00am to 10:00am

Online

Free event