Past Event

Migratory Notes Town Hall: Covering Central American Migration

Thursday, February 11, 2021 - 8:30pm to 9:30pm
Online

What did journalists get wrong - and right - covering so-called caravans, family separation, Remain in Mexico, and other asylum restrictions under Trump? What do Central American journalists wish U.S. audiences knew? What do journalists need to prepare for in covering the Biden administration and to expect with new waves of immigration?

This convening is the first in a series of virtual town halls for immigration journalists launched by Migratory Notes and Internews as the Biden administration embarks on a new immigration trajectory.

When: February 11, at 5:30pm PT/ 7:30pm CT/ 8:30pm ET

WhereFill out this form and we will send you a meeting link.

Who: Speakers will include (this is a growing list)

  • Tomas Ayuso, Honduran writer and photographer covering migration for NatGeo. @tayuso
  • Sandra Cuffe, Guatemala-based freelancer. @sandra_cuffe
  • Monica Campbell, Immigration editor/ reporter The World. @monica_campbell

Note, journalists covering immigration are welcome, regardless if you report directly on Central American migrants. This will be an open forum with plenty of opportunity to engage in questions and offer expertise. Participation is welcome in Spanish and English.

Migratory Notes Town Hall: Covering Central American Migration More information

Thursday, February 11, 2021 - 8:30pm to 9:30pm

Online

Free event