Past Event

Where are the Female Voices? - Why we Need More Female Representation in the Media

Friday, March 5, 2021 - 10:00am to 11:00am
Online

Not seen and not heard. Women are still underrepresented in today’s media.

Less than a quarter of the people we see, hear and read about in the news are women. Only 19% of cited expert sources and 23% of the top editors across major global news outlets are women, a percentage that is much lower in APAC compared with other regional markets.

Ahead of this year’s International Women’s Day, please join Edelman and leaders from top-tier media and multinational companies for a virtual panel discussion on how to increase female representation in the media.

Watch the video of the presentation:

Where are the Female Voices?

The discussion will shed light on regional variances and explore the potential partnership role for businesses that are serious about gender parity to help address the issue. At a time when trust in all news sources is at record lows, we will consider whether more female voices within, and those featured by the media, can help restore trust in the fourth estate.

If you and the organization you work for are committed to helping women overcome the challenge of getting their stories and perspectives heard in the media, then we invite you to join Edelman’s International Women’s Day APAC Panel Discussion on Friday 5 March at 10 a.m. (Singapore time) by RSVP-ing to this invitation below. Your session log-in information will be provided in advance.

Moderator

  • Leya Teo – Director, Edelman Shanghai

Panellists

  • Rob Candelino – CEO, Unilever Thailand and Inland ASEAN
  • Jeanne Bourgault – CEO and President, Internews
  • Stephanie Phang – Managing Editor, Southeast Asia, Bloomberg
  • Nobuko Kobayashi – EY Asia-Pacific Strategy Execution Leader

Date: Friday, 5 March 2021

Time: 10:00 – 11:00 a.m. Singapore/Hong Kong/Beijing  / 13:00 – 14:00 Sydney / 11:00 – 12:00 p.m. Tokyo / 09:00 – 10:00 a.m. Bangkok / 07:30 – 08:30 a.m. Delhi

Where are the Female Voices? - Why we Need More Female Representation in the Media

Friday, March 5, 2021 - 10:00am to 11:00am

Online