Past Event

The Outlook for Biodiversity at a Global and Local Level: What Does it Mean for Future Planetary Protection?

Wednesday, October 21, 2020 - 9:00am to 10:00am
Online

Please join Internews' Earth Journalism Network this Wednesday, October 21 at 9am EDT (2pm in London, 8pm in Jakarta) for a webinar that will explore the outlook for biodiversity at both a global and local level and what it means for proposals to protect the planet.

We’ll look at the UN Convention on Biological Diversity’s (CBD) latest biodiversity assessment and discuss the transformations needed to protect and secure the benefits this biodiversity provides us.

We’ll also hear how indigenous peoples and local communities are working to support the CBD’s goals, and we'll discuss what all this means for the new global targets governments are set to agree to next year when they meet in China.

Speakers:

  • David Cooper - Deputy Executive Director of the Secretariat of the UN Convention on Biological Diversity
  • Eric Dinerstein - Director of Biodiversity and Wildlife Solutions Program at RESOLVE and CEO of Wildtech@Resolve
  • Joji Cariño - Senior Policy Advisor with the Forest Peoples Programme, and co-author of Local Biodiversity Outlooks

The Outlook for Biodiversity at a Global and Local Level: What Does it Mean for Future Planetary Protection? More information

Wednesday, October 21, 2020 - 9:00am to 10:00am

Online

Free event